Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

In this modern society, a lot of folks can access digital devices such as computers, and accordingly, the number of children who like to play game consoles has increased. Playing video games can create creativity and higher concentration, whereas it may cause some health issues and worsen academic performance. Using game consoles for leisure fosters creativity because young people can think strategically and figure out how to win battles in games, using their imagination. In addition, this action might also enable them to concentrate on only one thing in the long term, as those devices have a great feature, where school children can be readily obsessed with them without being forced. For example, Smash Brothers from Nintendo requires you to come up with the best way to beat several opponents in consecutive battles, which generally takes more than two hours to complete the course in the game. On the other hand, this technology may also aggravate eyesight as well as hinder academic performance. This is attributed to these gadgets being so addictive that children with little self-control would keep playing them endlessly, resulting in staring at a computer and a television for a long period of time, which can hurt one’s eyes. Furthermore, the addiction can cause a reduction in time for studying as a consequence. To illustrate this, in Korea, 70% of school children wear glasses, and the average score on the entrance exam for Seoul University has decreased. With this situation, the government enforced a law to monitor all game consoles that teen users have to prevent the youngsters from playing the games after 10pm. To sum up, there are a great number of technological gadgets, like computers, that individuals can reach out to, resulting in young folks spending a large amount of time on video games. There are pros and cons to this phenomenon; for instance, some benefits are that they can become creative and that they can obtain higher concentration. By contrast, some detriments are damaging their eyes and negatively impacting their academic performance.