Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

It has become a highly debatable issue whether is it the duty of developing nations' governments to help their citizens, or should reach countries share their wealth and resources to them. Most of these poor nations are living under the poverty line, and in my opinion, wealthy nations have the ability and responsibility to help them. On the one hand, giving food, resources or money to poor countries without getting anything in return such as goods or services, might remove any motivation for them to develop and to do something to improve the situation. This may lead to no-win situation similar to the common problem, for instance, when some unemployed people abuse the welfare system by not even trying to find a job. Thus, disservice is one of the main reasons why some are convinced that the governments of poorer nations should be responsible for the well-being of their citizens. On the other hand, rich countries might more capable of helping those less fortunate countries than their own governments for many reasons. Firstly, economy of poorer countries is buried in debts which is very likely reflected in a week welfare and education system that they were unable to develop. This vicious cycle will continue unless rich countries take the responsibility of helping those nations and minimizing the huge worldwide difference in literacy rate and food distribution. For example, rich countries could help them with some projects of sharing knowledge about prevention of epidemic diseases or modern agricultural methods. Secondly, many of these countries are living in subhuman conditions due to extreme poverty. Therefore, developed countries could donate food surplus to those poor nations from starving. In conclusion, although rich economies are not obliged to aid the poorer ones, I believe that it is the right thing to do and that it would be less likely to see any improvement in developing nation status without the cooperation of the affluent countries.