Every culture, throughout time, has recorded its history in one way or another. In what ways can history be passed on to the next generation? Why is history important to society?

Over the course of history, each culture has passed down the occurred events in some or the other form to younger generations. Even though the ways in which these records have transferred have been varied, it has always been of utmost importance to record the history because this is the only way to pass down cultural values to future generations. There are many ways in which history can be recorded such as traditional scripts, books and modern technological mediums. Since the dawn of recorded human history, mediums in which the information has been noted have changed significantly. To illustrate, the transformation from initial transcriptions on rocks to modern storage in a database has been a big leap for the mankind. Some other forms such as verbal stories and books have been a rich source of the legends of several heroes from the past. Hence, although the variations in the types of records have been consistent, information in itself has not lost its lustre. History's importance in a societal setting is very significant because of the morals and the cultural values passed down from generations to generations. Had it not been for the records of human history, it would have been extremely difficult to cultivate the modern values of peace and nonviolence. For example, books such as "Experiments of truth" have moved masses towards the values of peace, creating a more civilized society. Therefore, it is vital for the positive development of society to record history in one way or the other. To conclude, each community has written historical events in its own manner. While the ways in which these written data is stored have been many, because of the variety of ethical values recording history provides to young people, this practice has not become lost.