The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, there has been an increasing number of productions in the consumer goods sector, which has a negative impact on the natural environment. This is primarily due to the rise in CO2 emissions from several industries and the use of plastic packaging in production. However, there are two ways to address this issue. The main problem is the increase in CO2 emissions in the atmosphere, which is driven by the dramatic rise in the demand for goods, necessitating extra manufacturing to meet these demands. As CO2 emissions rise, they adversely affect natural resources, including trees, wilderness areas, and water. These impacts can hinder plant growth and harm marine life. Furthermore, as a large volume of goods is produced, there is also a significant need for plastic packaging, leading to increased waste on Earth. A single plastic bag can take around one hundred years to decompose; imagine the time it would take for millions of plastic packages. Many fish in the ocean mistakenly consume these plastics, thinking they are food, resulting in the deaths of millions of marine creatures. One major solution is for the government to restrict the amount of CO2 emissions from local industries. By doing this, these industries will not be able to produce as much pollution, ultimately reducing their impact on the natural environment. Furthermore, the government can establish regulations that promote the use of green materials for packaging instead of plastic. Recycled bags are much easier to decompose and can be repurposed into other products. Consequently, these methods can help protect our environment. In conclusion, there are several factors that cause damage to the natural environment, including increasing CO2 emissions and plastic waste. However, there are two effective strategies to tackle these problems: restricting CO2 emissions and promoting the use of recycled materials.