Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In the recent years, the growth of the Internet has been phenomenal. However, some people are sceptical about the effects of the online communication on social interactions. Although there are convincing arguments on the both sides, I am convinced that the Internet is improving human communications. One argument put forward against the proliferation of the Internet is that it is making people socially isolated. There are numerous social media applications through which the people can communicate with even strangers. This creates an illusion that they are becoming more social, when in fact, they don't have any real friends. For example, youngsters are particularly fond of using applications such as Whatsapp, Facebook, or Instagram to chat with friends, but they drift away from real persons around them, thus isolating them from the community. However, there are many arguments in favour of the beneficial effects of the Internet on our communication. First, the Internet has made it easier for us to remain in touch with family and friends. In the past, landline telephone was the only mode of conversation, and people would find it hard to talk to distant family members regularly. Nowadays, on the other hand, we can remain in constant contact with our loved ones through mobile communication. For instance, I have a family Whatsapp group through which I remain in contact with my family all the time. Second, the Internet has made remaining in touch quite cost effective. Previously, the international calls used to be so expensive that it deterred many from making them. At present, one can make video calls and talk for hours without worrying about the cost. In conclusion, it is abundantly clear that the Internet has made the conversation more efficient and cost effective. It is up to the society to regulate itself and maintain the value of real human interactions.