Some people think that with the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that the more people use mobile phones and computers, the less they communicate directly with others. I completely agree with this statement, and in this essay I will show two reasons why. First of all, people, especially the youngsters, now depend too much to their phones. They are addicted to social media like Facebook, Twitter, TikTok and open these apps whenever they can. This usually leads to lack of face to face conversations between people, since even when they are with each others but still keep their eye on the phones. A family meeting, for example, with all the family members participating in order to talk about their days, but then everyone just pulls out their smart phones and swipe it until the meeting is over. Secondly, with mobile phones and computers, it is easy to find and contact friends or colleagues through online messages. Because of no eye-to-eye contact, people feel more confident and talk freely, and gradually lose the ability to communicate directly. For instance, a group of people with the same interest, they can chat with others endless on the internet, but then only feel awkward when they finally hang out, decide to avoid talking as much as possible, lead to lack of proper conversations. In conclusion, people are likely to talk less to each other as long as they depend on their phones and computers, since they are addicted to social media and contact with others through the internet rather than have a real conversation.