Many people think that money is important to achieve happiness. What is the importance of money to happiness? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your experience.

A lot of people believe that to be happy one needs to have a huge amount of money. I believe that while money is important for survival it is not necessary to achieve happiness. Happiness is a state of mind and is also tied to the well being of the people we love. Firstly, if money had been important to happiness, only rich people would have been happy. If we go by facts, that would mean that two thirds of the world population will be living an unhappy life. However, that is not the case. A lot of times we come across people who do menial jobs, but we still see a smile on their faces. People who are suffering from dreadful diseases can be seen living their life cheerfully. In other words, being happy has more to do with contentment than the amount of money in the bank. Secondly, happiness of an individual is somewhere also dependent on the happiness of the people they care for. A father no matter how rich he is cannot stay happy if his children are suffering from life threatening ailments with no cure. However, a father who is from a lower income group might be living a happy life if his children are healthy and living a normal life. To conclude, while money is essential for meeting daily needs, it is not required for achieving happiness in life. Happiness can be derived from a positive mindset and by getting comfort from the well-being of your family.