Some people think that children should be taught at school to recycle materials and avoid waste. Other people believe that children should be taught this at home.  Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is very important to recycle materials and reduce the amount of waste, and teach these principles to the children, but there is a disagreement among the experts about the appropriate place for educating the children. Some believe schools are the best place for teaching the value of recycling, whereas others consider homes as the best location. This essay will discuss both points of view and I shall argue that the children should be educated about this important issue at home. On the one hand, some believe that like most of the other learning, the value of recycling waste should also be taught at home. The process of learning for a toddler begins even before he joins a school. Because, children spend much more time at their homes and tend to follow the habits of their parents, the home is the best place to teach this important value. For instance, it is well known that babies begin to form habits during early childhood. The foundation of many good habits such as reading and self discipline is laid at home. Therefore, they argue that the education about material recycling should be given at the home. One the other hand, I would argue that these valuable habits should be inculcated at the school. It is well established that children listen to their teachers more than the parents, and at school they also learn by observing the behaviour of their peers. Schools provide the perfect atmosphere for learning because of a formal and enabling environment. If information about the value of recycling the waste is shared in school along with a practical demonstration, the children are more likely to retain this information and practice this at their homes. For example, a recent Swedish study demonstrated that on average the students retain more information which is taught at school compared to the one provided at home. In conclusion, though there are convincing arguments on both sides, it is abundantly clear that because children are more likely to learn more and better in schools, they ought to be educated about this important issue in schools.