In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

There is an ongoing interest in the upsurge in crime. In most countries, crime is rising significantly. The key questions are what are the causes and how can we remedy these problems, I believe it is often linked to the lack of employment, and creating job opportunities will help ameliorate this issue. I will thoroughly analyze my views, supported with relevant examples. To begin, one major reason for the increase in crime in many countries is unemployment. That is, most people do not have work due to inadequate opportunities, hence they have no stable source of income, and cannot meet their daily needs. They feel marginalized in the society. This often drives them into illegal business deals or theft, in a quest to attain financial stability. For example, surveys conducted in Zone 9 prison headquarters in Nigeria, revealed that about 85% of the incarcerated criminals who committed felonies and misdemeanors were unemployed graduates without substantial paying jobs. They joined robbery as an alternative means of survival. This clearly shows that unemployment fosters misdeeds. Furthermore, there are various ways to combat this problem in society, but the most effective is by providing economic support and job creation for the people. To buttress this, the government should invest in establishing employment for a larger population and, provide financial aid to the less-privileged group. It can be achieved by encouraging foreign investors, building industries, and also by granting scholarships, mortgages and bank loans. These will provide work placement for the residents, and help stabilize living standards, subsequently dissuading offence. For instance, studies have shown that countries with commendable available works and fund aid, particularly developed nations like the UK and the US, have recorded lower atrocity rates over the years as compared to others lacking in the above-mentioned areas. In conclusion, with the constant rise in the number of offenders in many nations, I believe this can be attributed to the lack of job availability, and creating employment and financial aid will help curb this problem.