Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is perceived that there can be social and practical problems for people who live in a country where they have to speak a foreign language. I certainly agree with this statement. Firstly, not being able to use mother language to communicate can be problematic. For example, when ordering food or buying groceries, even experienced speakers may find it difficult to explain what they are looking for to buy or to avoid in their food with unfamiliar neologism. Because of differences in vocabulary and grammar, what is expressed with different wordings might not show the exact same meaning or attitude, causing frustration or misunderstanding among both parties. Thus, there is certainly practical communication problem when using a foreign language on a daily basis. In terms of social complications, immigrants who were speaking another language since birth can find themselves being discriminated regularly. Being sneered due to a difference accent is rife in both education and work settings. My husband, for a personal example, has been mocked for not speaking English fluently by his co-worker and patients, while working at a hospital where such behaviour is not acceptable. This is because people do not easily appreciate differences, especially when they interfere with the common uniformity existed in the country. Thus, living with a different speech can be socially difficult for people. To sum up, there are certainly social and practical issues faced by immigrants who have to adapt with a different language in the new country. I look forward to a future where there is more support and harmony to mitigate these problems.