As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

In this contemporary era, people are prone to prefer purchasing privately-owned vehicles and making use of them in their daily lives instead of taking public transportation. In my opinions, this trend has numerous negative effects which have been brought to our environment. Having privately-owned vehicles are considered as advantageous to individuals because it is undoubtedly more convenient compared to using public transport. For instance, using privately-owned cars provide flexibility in time management considering there are no specific schedule set on when you are able to take it. As a result, people do not have to worry about waiting too long for a bus or being late to the train station. Nevertheless, privately-owned cars are equipped with more comfortable interior than the one in most public transportation systems. Thus, people are able to sit through long journeys without the feeling of discomfort. On the other hand, the use of privately-owned cars contributes to the increase in greenhouse gas emissions in the atmosphere. When these greenhouse gases are emitted, heat that is supposed to be released out into space will be trapped in the atmosphere, causing global warming to occur. Another disadvantage would be that besides emitting greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, the release of carbon monoxide as a result of vehicle exhaustion could cause excessive pollution. Which then may increase the chance of breathing problems for anyone who breathes the no longer fresh air. In conclusion, considering the harmful effects towards the environment, the disadvantage of this trend does outweigh the advantages for individuals who own these vehicles. By encouraging its use, employers can reduce transportation impacts and parking demand as well as help employees reduce their travel costs.