The manufacturing and use of cars damages the environment but their popularity is increasing. Why is this? How could this be controlled?

Although both the production and usage of cars produce pollution, the auto industry is continuously expanding. This is because nowadays people in developing nations have more disposable income and its impact can only be controlled by government regulations and policies. Firstly, one of the main reasons is rapidly rising in demand of cars is due to the increase in developing nations. People are nowadays also buying cars due to social pressure and to maintain status in the community. Even though if people try to avoid buying cars, they need good alternatives like public transport infrastructure to minimise their travelling hassle. For instance, a recent survey published by The Times of India shows gas emission from cars contributes 30% of the total pollution which results in global warming. As a result, it is creating Traffic jams in the major cities. Secondly, it can be controlled by the government by imposing higher taxes on cars. Alternatively, use of public transport can be promoted by building better public infrastructure and by providing subsidies on using public means of transport. However car consumption cannot be totally reduced, so the government should promote electric cars for the future. For example, since 2000 Singapore government has imposed high tax on cars due to which they will able to reduce 40% of car usage in the country. It will also help the environment in controlling global warming and providing good quality of air. In conclusion, to control the damage due to the production and use of cars, the government should start imposing dracorian of or relating to Draco or his harsh code of laws draconian taxes and start promoting public transport use.