In many countries, people are spending more time in their workplace. Why is this? Is this a postive or a negative development?

Doing overtime at the workplaces, has become a widespread practice among the individuals these days, in several parts of the world. This is primarily due to the enhancing competition in the work sector. Although there are several advantages associated with this phenomenon, I believe that it is adversely affecting the work- life balance. To commence with, younger working people are facing stiff competition in this contemporary era. Therefore, to promote their professional growth, they have to increase their productivity, which is possible only if they allocate most of their time to their job related tasks. For instance, in most of the developed countries, like in the UK, workers are exhibiting their willingness to work 24*7 hours so that they could accomplish their goals within the given deadlines, which boosts their chances of getting a promotion in the companies. Thus, in order to attain successful career rising numbers of people are allocating most part of the day to the offices. However, it is not always advantageous and it is a negative development.Because spending excess duration of the day in workplaces has been responsible for the enhancing conflicts in the family life.Undeniably, working extra time can bring more income, in spite of this, it cannot provide individuals the pleasure of having a healthy family relationships.Even though such individuals live luxurious life despite this they suffer from depression, which sometimes results in serious health problems, such as cardiac problems, improper body posture, and many more.To elucidate, family and professional life will get disturbed because of devoting more hours to the job. In conclusion, it is irrefutable that individuals are having a hectic work schedule in the present world, and competitive world might be the possible reason. This essay discussed that it is negatively impacting the life of the employees.