Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example for a working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact, that we should give back to the society.While some argue that serving our community in any form is appreciated, I strongly believe that this has to be sown in young minds. Hence, It should be compulsory to educate school children to take part in some sort of service out of goodwill. Firstly, the service that the kids do can be of any form.Starting from physical work to imparting wisdom. For example, various government high schools all across India made it mandatory for the high school kids to participate in at least two rural education programme which the school has to offer, if not more. This makes sure that the children from remote villages has some kind of access to education. Secondly, there are numerous schools which are understaffed due to various reasons and as a result student suffer. This can be easily rectified by volunteering not only from high schools, but from all other sources such as graduates, working professionals etc. For instance, various multinational companies made this a monthly activity and helped underprivileged schools and children across the nearby town.HCL technologies adopted a village near Chennai, which has around 2000 families and helped them in various areas like teaching, building toilets, helping them clean and repaint the school and provide them with their first computer in the local school. Apart from academics, various skills can be taught to the people in need. For example, Kobe Bryant started a trust which helps for the upliftment of women basketball players.Few people help their local churches by organizing events and raising money, which in turn will help their church. To recapitulate, giving back to our community is crucial.Irrespective of the forms the thought has to be inflicted into the minds from a very young age. Hence, it is really important for schools to step up their game and help the students to participate in teaching, sports or any activity that can help the less fortunate for the betterment of their life.