Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some people that it is good to accept what life has given them while others think that they should strive to ameliorate such situations. This essay examines the question from both points of view and then states my perspective, being that one should always make an attempt to make their way of living better. On the one hand, accepting the bad situations such as a dissatisfying job or inadequacy of money will make people, who are unable to bring a change in their lifestyle, more satisfied. For example, recent research puts the Democratic Republic of Congo as a part of the poorest nations on Earth, both due to a lack of developed infrastructure and internal strife in recent years. For a person living in a small village, ravaged by war or famine, it would be cruel to suggest that they should find a way to improve their lives when it might simply be impossible. Instead, such people may feel they are better off accepting that they cannot make any changes to their situation at the present moment and just focus on their own survival and that of their family. These situations are rare, but do exist around the world in various countries, particularly if they are at war or experiencing a severe economic downturn. On the other hand, few people will dispute the fact the even in the most difficult time people can change their lives by making continued effort. There is no denying that persistence and hard-work have changed the condition of many people. For instance, countries like Germany, Japan, and South Korea. All those countries were devastated by war to greater and lesser degrees yet they are all current economic powerhouses. In Japan, World War 2 left their population depleted of workers, a deep national debt due to reparations and infrastructure reduced to rubble. By not accepting their situation they were able to become leaders in technology through notable companies like Sony, Nokia and Toyota. The efficacy of the individuals who had to work hard to improve their lives is reflected in the overall progress of the country and should serve as an example to all war-torn nations. Finally, in conclusion, there are some situations in which accepting a condition is advisable, however, in my opinion, a person can enhance their living condition by trying again and again.