A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this fact

Globalization has opened the doors for people to travel across the globe for experiencing rich cultures that a country has to offer. As a result, the travel industry has flourished to a level beyond one’s imagination. Unfortunately, rampant rise of anything is like a double edge sword. This disquisition delves into the benefits and perils of increased tourism on the country's economy and natural ecosystem. To begin with, foreigners generate business for the locals. The former acts as a catalyst in generating demand for better infrastructures such hotels, improved modes of transportation and introduction of a range of eateries for catering to their diverse needs, which not only create new jobs, but also ameliorate the earnings of the existing workforce. This helps improve the standard of living and overall well-being of the local community. For example, there are many cities such as Dubai and Maldives where tourism is the bread and butter for the indigenous community. On the contrary, it has a negative impact on the visiting nation natural ecosystem. To elaborate, there are multiple tours which are operated by the host nation for the visitors in order to experience their natural wonders. However, uncontrolled operation of the former results in greater destruction of the latter. According to one survey, Great barrier reef has lost 30% of their indigenous corals because of this. To sum up, balance is a prerequisite for the well-being of an economy and environment. Although foreign travel has a positive effect on the lives of local people, it should not damage the ecosystem who has given them the opportunity at the first place.