Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic: News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

In today's era, news editors hold a major responsibility of managing the information which is presented to the public. Let it be the data on the newspapers or the visuals shown on televisions, it's all under their control. However, there is a plethora of factors that affect their decision of selection, which are explained below. The rating of the channel is of the utmost importance. This is considered to be a major factor that influences the decision of an editor. For instance, if an editor has a news about any scandal of any politician on one hand, and a news of the sufferings of farmers on the other hand, the priority goes to the first news as it will catch the attention of many viewers and thus, leads to higher ratings. So, the news with much more about drama and spice attracts the public, and is considered by the editor for the company's success. However, it also implies that such choice of news, which catches the eye of the public makes them habitual of bad news. The news that has some bad impact is preferred more by the people and if affects them mentally also. Such news makes our interest to read the whole case and want to know more about it. For example, the majority of people are attracted to the news of robbery, killings, or scandals. Their preference does indicate the choice, which is not good for society and healthy for themselves. On the other hand, good news gets less of coverage, in spite of providing inspiration and giving good impact on people. News is showcasing someones victory or new invention by a college student for the benefit of society as less viewed. This shows that people are attracted to bad stuff rather than a good one. If the good news were reported and broadcasted much more than bad news, people would have lived better lives. In conclusion, type of news does affect one's mental health. Editors by trying to be less selfish can bring a change in this scenario and good news should be reported more and shown more.