Environmental problems are caused by technological development. Some people say that the solution to these problems is for everyone to lead a simpler way of life while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The rapid progression in the advancement of technology has a catastrophic effect on the environment. Therefore, it is believed by some people that in order to overcome these problems everyone needs to live a simpler life. However, others believe that technology could address these environmental issues. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and then I will present my perspective which is that the technological improvement will decipher this problem. On the one hand, it is believed that individuals need to live simple lives and rely less on technical things. This is because the current number of cars being manufactured and used is increasing, which causes high levels of exhaust fumes and makes air pollution more serious. Additionally, people should try to reduce their consumption of electricity so that the exploitation of natural resources such as fossil fuels or nuclear power can be minimised. An example of this idea is the annual event called Earth Hour where everyone is asked to turn their lights off for sixty minutes. On the other hand, the technological developments can greatly contribute to environmental protection. Firstly, because of those improvements, people are able to come up with ways to recycle materials such as paper or glass, which reduces the problem of waste disposal. Secondly, machinery can also help to create electricity using renewable resources. For example, many countries in the world have built plants that utilise solar energy to generate power. As a result, it is not necessary to rely on non-renewable resources and people can create electricity without significantly damaging the environment. Finally, in conclusion, I believe that we need to look at new ways of machinery that is eco-friendly because leading a simpler life is way too unrealistic. Technology can provide us new methods to help the earth.