Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The famous quote from the movie, Spiderman, "with great power comes great responsibility", fits well with the current situation because the media today only focuses on the click bait articles to generate more eyeballs on their web pages and increase their TRP. This essay discusses how media affects the mental health of our society and individuals by only focusing on the issues and negative side of the world. It creates confusion and anxiety within the people and portrays a biased version of our surroundings. Firstly, several studies have suggested that the consumption of negative news, which remains the most broadcasted type of news today, can play a vital role in increasing anxiousness because it releases certain chemicals in our brains. Furthermore, hearing only about bomb blasts, kidnappings, and government scandals can hurt our mental health and increases distress, while decreasing the hope for a better future. For example, the position of my home country, Pakistan, in the index of dangerous countries of the world has improved last month, however, media heavily covered the plane crash happening around the same time in Karachi, resulting into 90% decline in domestic air travel. Secondly, just reporting the emergency news can further uplift the unnecessary panic in societies, and create a void for spammers and fake-news army to fill. Consequently, it misleads the public as a result. Additionally, when people are only fed unclear picture of emergencies, it creates questions, and those gaps in understanding builds a sense of rush and confusion. For instance, when the COVID-19 pandemic hit the earth in February, premature media reports disrupted the nation in my country, which created a confused state and resulted in riots against the government. In conclusion, I think the media has the power to shape thinking. Hence, they should be using it more carefully and try to present a complete picture contrary to creating a bubble around us. Governments can also play an active role in solving the problem by tightly regulating these bodies.