Some people think that you can only learn about the cultures of different places by travelling to them. Other people think that you can learn just as much about these places from reading books and watching travel documentaries about them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have differing views regard to the question of whether we can explore other cultures by travelling to these places or just from texts and pictures. In my opinion, it is better to take a trip to the destination we want to discover to understand its culture more. On the one hand, gaining information from books and documentaries has two main advantages which are convenient and affordable. In fact, not all people have enough money to travel all year around and to all the places they want. In this case, books and films are great ways to broaden their knowledge about other cultures. Moreover, these things are often cheap and do not require them to go out too much. People can just stay in their own home and they are still able to explore many things around. For example, students who have not made much money yet can still feel like they are having real experience while discovering interesting facts through texts and pictures. On the other hand, I believe it is more beneficial to understand various cultures thoroughly by travelling to them. Sometimes books and movies can just give people small aspects of the places they are learning about. They are, to some extent, affected by the perception of their authors or directors. But each one's taste is different. For instance, some people might not like the street food culture in some Asian countries because they find it not hygienic enough, while others think it is a great way to understand more about the country. Therefore, taking a trip to these places themselves might bring people some unique and extraordinary experience that others might not have. In conclusion, while books and travel documentaries are good ways to discover a culture, it is better to learn about a place by travelling there.