Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Experts throughout both developing and developed world have debated the effectiveness of imposing death penalty upon major crimes. Some believe that without such punishment, society will become more vulnerable to violence, personally I agree. This essay will argue that despite some drawbacks it may have, capital punishment is necessary to keep law and order in a community. There are many plausible arguments against death sentences. Primarily, it can be a violation of human rights since no one has a right to kill another human being by injecting poisonous chemicals, hanging, electrocution or by any other means. Besides, some innocent people could be convicted and executed for crimes they never did. For example, recent empirical studies by the US government showed that three to five percent of all death convicts proved innocent afterwards. Therefore, a sentence of death could be an uncivilized and barbaric approach in some cases. Although there is a case of executions infringing human rights, the impact capital punishment may have as a deterrent of violent crimes, cannot be overstated. This is largely because fear of execution will keep people at a distance from committing brutal crimes. For example, an extensive study by American University of Law showed countries where death row was introduced, rates of violent wrongdoing decreased by more than 40%. Moreover, governments spend a substantial sum of the national budged on maintaining prisoners with lifetime sentences, which could be used for something more convenient such as building schools and hospitals. To conclude, from the arguments and examples given, I firmly believe that even though death penalty could be seen as a cruel and aggressive rule in some cases, it could act as a highly effective preventative measure from committing violence offences.