Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present day, more and more newly invented medicines and other goods are being experimented on animals to identify their effects. While many people believe that these experiments are immoral and should be forbidden due to the suffering of animals, others argue that they bring numerous advantages to human being. Personally, I strongly agree with the former view and suppose that experiments on animals are unacceptable. On the one hand, conducting experiments on animals can have many upsides to humanity. Doing this could help to test the body reaction of the products prior to their release; therefore, chemists and scientists would be able to have precautions and would then alter the products to increase the effectiveness. Medicine, for instance, must be tested to see its side effects and hence, pharmacists could warn their customers when they buy the product to cause least harm. Animal experiments, on the other hand, are inhumane and should definitely be eradicated. Firstly, it is against the animals ’ rights to live and the side effects of the products could have inevitable negative impacts on animals. The outcomes could range anywhere from nausea or faint to fatality; thus, it is morally wrong to cause animals suffer. Moreover, there have been many breakthroughs in the biological field which could become an alternative to animal experiments such as synthetic environment. This kind of experiment is much more suitable and favorable since it is a computer simulation made for testing products and there is no use of living bodies. In conclusion, despite the upsides that experiments on animal bring, I believe that they should be banned due to their cruelty towards animals. Scientists should use other substitutes to test their new products so that there would not be any harm on either humans or animals.