Some school leavers go travelling or work in a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is true that nowadays most students tend to have a journey or look for a job after graduation from high school. This trend also called as “ gap–year” and it has a lot of benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, there are several benefits of travelling or working after studying in high school. The first advantage is that students may know what they really like and what is their forces. In fact, most students have struggled with those problems so it would be a great opportunity for them to explore the abilities which are hiding in their body. Furthermore, once they determine exactly what their passion, which helps students have a clear choice for their major in university. Another advantage is students will have more work experience and also practical knowledge that help them deal with problems at the workplace. For instance, during the time of working they have to work with a lot kind of costumers, which acquire them must know solution for difficult customers and it can improve their communication skills. On the other hand, I can also recognize some drawbacks of this idea. Firstly, students can fall behind with their studies, which also leads their graduation late. Having a gap-year male students can not catch up with their peers that make them face more stressful when they get back to college. Moreover, they can have to take extra classes to make sure they keep up programs at university. The second disadvantages is that they no longer interested in studying. As they can get a promotion to a higher position in a company with high salary, therefore it makes them feel easy to earn money that do not need to finishing university’s programs. In conclusion, this trend has its a lot of benefits and also drawbacks. The decision may depend on the ability of each individual.