In many developing countries, there is an increasing movement of workers from rural areas into the cities. Why do you think this happens? What problems can this cause?

Rural regions are important for agriculture and farming. However, it is observed in most of third world countries that skilled workforce increasingly shifting towards larger cities. This essay will discuss underlying reasons for such migration and issues which may cause to occur. To begin with, individuals consider moving from countryside as they find better employment opportunities of being hired in larger metropolitans for a better income rather than living in their villages. This is because the cities are backed with multiple industries and consist of larger density of population, which demands more skilled employees to occupy rising jobs. As an example, a thriving urban centre will create a range of vacancies in many sectors such as cleaners, chefs, teachers and bankers. As a result, in order to meet these emerging industrial demands more employees will move towards city life. However, there are several horrifying adverse effects due to the aforementioned movement of workers may create. For instance, some areas will suffer lack of manpower to run their basic industries such as mining, farming and fishing. Unlike bigger cities which having many industries, the regional small towns often rely on just one major industry, a collapse of which may push the entire economy of the region downhill. Another negative impact is the decrease in tax income of the area due to decreased population. Not only this lowering the income of just local governments, but will also decrease budget allocations which could have used in the development and welfare of the area. In conclusion, although increasing occupational demands in metropolis attract skilled labour from the countryside, it is important to consider the dangers that their local industries and economies will ultimately face.