In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technology is changing the way we do things in our daily life, the way people are reading the newspaper and books has changed eventually. As a result, some people argue that in the future, people will not buy books or newspapers, instead they will read online. I agree with this statement to some extents because there are still people who prefer to buy these forms to read. Some people might not find appealing to get newspapers and books online. To begin with, elderly people might not be familiar with technology, to use a computer or to research on the internet for books and newspapers become tedious for them. They would rather subscribe to a newspaper and receive the news in front of their door every day than go on the internet. Secondly, technology is not accessible for everybody, in certain locations people do not count with the internet and their only way to read is to buy the newspaper by going to the library. On the contrary, a vast majority of people are starting to read online due to all the benefits involved. While reading and buying newspapers is not environmentally friendly, reading online does not involve paper waste. Furthermore, newspapers are mostly for a single use and some books are quite expensive. By contrast, when reading online, people can get free access to news platforms, avoiding subscriptions. Therefore, people can read without paying anything. Lastly, people can be informed of breaking news faster online than with newspapers. In conclusion, although some people are still using newspapers and books to read, it is pretty likely that in the future the majority of people will use online services to read.