The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Number of vehicles that are on British Roads have grown exponentially over the past hundred years. This increase has caused, not only in transportation but also environmental challenges.Governments all across the globe are now looking out for alternative forms of transport, there are some who are of the opinion that new laws for car ownership should be legislated. I am in agreement with such an approach. Improvement in the social and economic conditions have resulted in an increase in car ownership. For instance, a study in the UK, has indicated that there is now one vehicle available for every three residents. Such increase in numbers of vehicles has allowed people to have a flexible and faster mode of transportation. People can now commute longer distances daily. However, there are several issues that are there because of this, increased number of vehicles can and will result in traffic congestion during rush hours. This also causes increased air and noise pollution and stressing the existing transport infrastructure. For example, the amount of greenhouse gases has tripled in the last decade, causing severe environmental and health impact. As a result, governments across the globe are looking for solutions to tackle this problem.Encouraging alternative modes of transport is a key initiative. With additional investment in public transports. Some countries have taken this even further. For example, Singapore has built a huge public transport network and have put forth legislation that makes it extremely costly for a private individual to own and operate a vehicle. Such controls will help us reduce greenhouse gas emission and help counter global warming. To summarize, Dramatic increase in the number of vehicles in the past century has caused significant environmental damage and strict legislation needs to be drafted to ensure to resolve this problem.