Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have . To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, the abolishment of university fees is a controversial topic. Many people hold the belief that everyone should be entitled to the whole fees, others opine that all the cost attached to college should be paid completely by students. In my opinion, these viewpoints are justifiable to a certain extent. On the one hand, it is true that there are some compelling reasons why students should be allowed to pursue college without fee. Firstly, with an educational system in the absence of college tuition fee, many students, especially for people coming from lower socioeconomic background, may stand a better chance of landing higher paid jobs and bettering their life quality. For example, the underprivileged who always find their lives hard to make ends meet, let alone to afford the student fees, will have a golden chance to enrol in university without worrying about financial terms. Secondly, a higher gross enrolment rate, fostered by a free - college policy, would give a rise to a more educated workforce, leading to not only a thriving economy, but also a civilized society. On the other hand, despite aforementioned benefits, this policy may wreak havoc on both society and government.Apparently, if the provision of free - of - charge higher education is applied, the authorities will have to incur to a huge amount of money paying for universities for the purposes of paying salary for tutors, maintaining the condition of infrastructure,.. Which lead to budget deficits, tax hikes or abating welfare among others. Moreover, due to the competitive job market as it is, it would impede the ability of seeking jobs. That means, when everyone all has their university diploma so it is hard for recruiters to distinguish who is the better candidate. For instance, compared to the past, students, who are academically excellent, can take advantage of their diploma to get a job more easily. In conclusion, both ideas have their own pros and cons. The role of college fee is not pale as opposed to an educational system without fee and vice versa. I opine that we should take this problem more seriously rather than have this debate reignited in order to make the suitable final decision.