You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some places, money earned from tourism has become an important part of the economy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of relying on tourism as a major source of revenue? Give reasons for your answer> and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Tourism has become one of the most profitable parts of the economy in many cities. Many new developments are made to ensure steady flow of tourists in the areas such as new programs are added to the list for entertainment purposes, improving the quality of food, accommodations at affordable prices and much more. The biggest advantage of increasing tourism is the spike in the economy of the place. If a particular place gains more good reviews and popularity, more people tend to visit which benefits many businesses. For instance, Goa, located in western India, is famous for its beaches. Government and the local businessmen improved its tourism spots and the programs to attract more visitors. For example, Mahabaleshwar, a town in Maharashtra, is famous for its waterfalls as well as various shows like the magic shows which attracts most of the kids and their parents. It is also famous for its Mapro garden. Because of the increase in the visitors every year, more local people gain jobs like in the tourism centres, hotels, restaurants and as tour guides. Though, it seems like tourism brings out the best for the native people, it has its own disadvantages. If a place is famous for its waterfalls, such as Coorg, a town in Karnataka, people only visit that area during the rainy season. The rest of the time, most the local people struggle to survive because of the lack of visitors in the other seasons. Best month to fly to Switzerland, is from June to September, which is their summertime. Tourism does not provide a year long employment for its people. Citizens working in this sector must switch jobs once the prime season is over. In conclusion, tourism might bring a good revenue for the state, but it is for a limited duration in a year. The state has to focus on other means in the remaining seasons. However, a planned schedule will deeply help the flow of revenue and would help the citizens with consistent salaries.