Some people consider that school education should be concentrated on academic subjects, which would be helpful for their future careers, and subjects like music and sport are not useful. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say those non-academic subjects such as art, music and PE, seem vain to students’ future occupations and they should be removed from the school syllabus to maximize students’ studying time. However, I would argue that these seem-to-be-dispensable subjects are of paramount importance because they could be beneficial for both students’ health and their future career path. A balance between studying and relaxation can be obtained through non-academic subjects, which preserves students’ health. The high school students’ pressure is enormous since they are beset with tons of homework, suffer peer pressure and experience parental expectation. Numerous research studies have proven that music as well as body movements can lessen the pressure to a moderate level and produce more dopamine - the element that makes students happier. More importantly, the exercises involved in PE lessons can build students’ muscles, burn their calories and enhance their immune systems. Without these subjects, students are completely deprived of leisure time, which would be catastrophic for their psychological and physical health. Moreover, subjects, such as music and PE can also lead to students’ future success. Many occupations relating to non-academic subjects offer a high degree of prestige and considerable income. For instance, a showbiz person can earn millions for a single presentation and a world-famous athlete receives pretty much a penny for being a spokesman. The prerequisites for these occupations are massive practice and accumulated experiences that had better be nurtured from a young age. Once those subjects are removed, few students can earn a living with the above occupations. These subjects should not be ignored to secure students’ futures, and, in fact, music and art can diversify their future career paths. To sum up, non-academic subjects are crucial for students' physical and psychological health. Simultaneously, these subjects can be a gateway to students’ success. As a result, I would argue that these subjects should never be removed from the school’s curriculum.