Some people think that organizing international sports events is good for the host country while others think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Some people believe that hosting international sporting events has a positive impact on the host country while others disagree, saying that this impact is negative. Although there are problems associated with hosting international competitions, I believe its overall effect is more favourable. Some critics claim that international sporting events can cause major problems. The first one is that with sporting events come a huge number of tourists. In other words, overcrowding can arise, resulting in a wide range of other issues, such as constant traffic congestion and over-use of resources. These problems also affect the environment, as a result of more cars on the road and more garbage thrown away by tourists. Another issue is the higher costs of living. When there are too many people, the median price for everything, including food, properties and other services, skyrockets. As a result, it will be the local population who suffers the most from this price uptick. Nevertheless, the positive effects of hosting international sports events overshadow the negative ones. The first desirable outcome of these events is that the economy of the host country improves. More tourists require more services from the country, meaning that the number of job opportunities, hotels, restaurants and other venues will increase in number, which in turn generates more income for the country. Another positive is that these sporting events can make the country more well-known across the globe. Sporting events are usually broadcast all over the world, which makes the country known to billions of people on Earth. Once people learn about the country, they will want to visit it in the future. This will improve the tourism sector of the host country. Qatar can be a good example. In 2022, this country hosted the Football World Cup, which brought millions of tourists from around the world and it enabled Qatar to make lots of money while also making it famous on a global level. In conclusion, although there are some negatives of hosting international sporting events, I believe its positives are more significant.