In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

These days, many individuals have become foodies because of multiple cuisine restaurants. This has resulted in them from suffering health ailments by consuming a lot of junk food. Is it necessary for higher authorities to levy a high rate of tax on such food? This essay completely disagrees with the above mentioned argument. The below paragraphs will discuss why increasing taxes will not make much difference and further discuss what other options can be taken into consideration. To begin with, tax on junk cuisine will affect to a certain degree. It is difficult to impact the entire population. The low income group might stop eating such edible item, but, the same cannot be assumed for the high profile people. Second, people have preferences for what they like to eat. The higher officials cannot force people to eat a particular type of food, especially in a democratic country. For instance, in a country like India, people are often fond of eating roadside food which is unhealthy and unsanitary to a great extent. This leads to them falling sick and suffering from issues like food poisoning and acidity. However, instead of imposing greater amounts of taxes the government can run campaigns on health awareness. As individuals cannot be told what to eat, they can definitely be guided by making them realise the importance of a balanced diet. Next, teenagers who follow celebrities are their role models and can be taught how these people maintain a healthy weight. For example, actors and sportsmen can advertise the importance of a well maintained body and how it can reduce the chance for health problems at an older age. To conclude, increasing taxes on junk food will not give the desired results, as it won't discourage people from consuming food of their choice. However, if they are made aware by implementing health and fitness programs, we can see a possible change in people's eating habits.In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.