Giving pocket money to children is very common in many countries. To what extend do you agree and disagree?

The upbringing of a child has been a contentious issue for decades. In most nations, it is normal for parents to give a specific amount of money to their children, In my opinion, this practice has many benefits, however, parents should be cautious not to over-exploit their child’s habits. In this essay, we shall elaborate this topic further. In the modern world, parents try to make their children as independent as possible, and thus they implement such methods to teach them about life skills. Firstly, the main motive is to teach children about gratitude as they realize the blessings of being privileged. Secondly, they learn the difference between a miser and a spender, for example, if they had to spend extravagantly or save cash, they will understand that it would not bring any good, and hence they learn to live moderately. Lastly, children learn to be patient and practical by acknowledging when and how to save and convince themselves about things which they do not need. Overall, it benefits the younger generation immensely. On the contrary, there are a few drawbacks to it if not monitored properly. Moreover, sometimes it has an opposite impact, for instance, a parent’s motive is to teach his/her child a lesson, instead the child thinks of it as easy money. Hence, parents should be attentive of their children’s expenditure when implying such practices. To summarize, youngsters are the building blocks of our society; therefore, the things we teach our children has a direct impact on the future. Nevertheless, I believe that pocket money is one of the best methods to teach children because of all the reasons mentioned above.