Some people say that supermarkets and manufacturers have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer’s responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is undeniable that many products demand an appropriate amount of packaging, which is provided by a supermarket or retailers. Whereas some people believe that it is the shop’s responsibility to minimize the packaging on sold items, while it is important, I would argue that customers are responsible to avoid buying these items up to a point. One of the most important benefits behind having a lot of wrapping materials on products is that it highly lower the probability of their sold products from break. This is because some of these products need extra care since they are sometimes either expensive or can be easily broken, which might result in a tremendous loss if these items are not well-packed. For instance, electronic devices, such as televisions, need much more care when bought or carried from the supplier. As a result, this supplier can avoid the television fragile by adding more and more cartons and protection materials to it. Having said that, customers should always buy their products with a suitable amount of packaging materials. The reason behind this is that these packaging materials are usually made by some contents which cannot be recycled. Consequently, these materials are considered as unsaturated materials in which it could harm species and well-being. Not only this, but also some of the packagings are not organized to deal with children as we heard many stories that many children have died because a plastic bag surrounded their necks. As a consequence, many stores write on their plastic bags a warning that these bags should not be used by children who are less than 5 or 6 years old. In conclusion, although it is often the stores’ responsibility to lower the amount of wrapping materials used as they play such a vital role in the protection of items, I believe that it should be the buyer’s responsibility to protect their items with a proper amount of packaging.