Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and the disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

It is true that nowadays people from around the world tend to travel to locations in which there are many challenges namely the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. I think this trend gives rise to both the advantages and the drawbacks, which will be described in the following essay. On the one hand, it is undeniable that holidaymakers would reap certain benefits from travelling to the remote areas with severe conditions. The first one would be included the chance to experience and challenge themselves in a new environment where they could have to face with the differences of climate state, such as too hot in the desert or incredibly cold in the north and south pole, as well as confront with the wild animals, especially poisonous reptiles and beasts. Some studies showed that people who have more experience and abilities obtaining from surviving in the wild nature, could deliver a valuable lesson to their family members, thus, help them to get in-depth understanding about the nature. In addition, making trips to the difficult locations may raise their awareness towards the surrounding due to the fact that what they accumulated through the real journey are more worth than those they watch on TV shows. On the other hand, despite the perks of visiting the severe areas, the dangers that they often cope with throughout the whole of the discover trip, should not be ignored. The language barrier could be the primary issue and also the main root of the culture shock of travelling now that they do not speak the native language of the locals, aboriginals of the Sahara desert in particular. Consequently, they will be unfamiliar with the custom and difficult to integrate with the local community, hence, they are isolated in the surrounding world may be unavoidable. Besides, they can be threatened by species from the wild nature causing wound or the rigorous weather, which result in the subject to sunstroke or catching cold. Even if these sicknesses or diseases are not treated timely and right, they could lead to the death since such places are occasionally without good medical centres and well-educated doctors. In conclusion, it seems to me that visitors uncovering new lands not only could harvest obvious benefits, but also cope with many challenges.