We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that we should not help people in other countries as long as there are many problems in our own society. I disagree with this view because I believe we should try to help as many people as possible. On the one hand, I accept that it is important to help our neighbours and fellow citizens. In most communities, there are people who are impoverished or disadvantaged in some way. It is possible to find homeless people, for example, even the wealthiest of cities, and for those who are concerned about this problem, there are often opportunities for volunteer time or money to help those people. In the UK, people can help in a variety of ways from donating clothing to serving free food in the soup kitchen. When problems are on our doorstep, and there are obvious ways to help, I can understand why some people feel that we should prioritize local charity. At the same time, I believe that we have an obligation to help those who live outside our national borders. In some countries, problems that we face are much more serious than those of our own communities, and it is often even easier to help. For example, when children are dying from curable diseases in the African nations, governments and individuals in the richer countries can save lives simply by paying for vaccines that already exist. A small donation to an international charity could have a much greater impact than helping in our local areas. In conclusion, it is true that we cannot help each person, but in my opinion, national boundaries should not stop us from helping those in need.