Students are becoming more and more reliant on computers. What are some of the problems associated with reliance on computers, and what are some of the possible solutions?

Computers are evidently becoming an integral part of the education system, causing an increased dependence on computers for students. While this invention is being appreciated for its benefits, this essay will illustrate some of the problems associated along with possible solutions which help neutralize the adversities attached to the same. The major issue with a significant reliance on this invention is lack of problem-solving skills. Everything today is available at the click of a button, which discourages children from applying critical thinking to come up with a solution by themselves. Consequently, most pupils of this digital age, lack of intellectual rational skills. To state an example, a recent research shows that the IQ levels of students studying without computers for a year, was found to be 30% higher, in contrast to the ones using technology as a tool for learning. Every great invention has its own nuances, but we as human beings should know how to build the right balance. Limiting the use of computers in education, but increasing activity-based pedagogy, is a possible solution to this rising circumstance. For example, global schools in India, nowadays follow innovative curriculums, whereby, they encourage students to think critically and help develop their cognitive abilities. At the same time, the child is also introduced to the robotic/digital world with prescribed limitations at this stage in their life so as to not make the child ignorant of the developing world around them. In conclusion, there is no denial of the ever-increasing reliance on computers for studies and neither are people’s attention drawn towards to its side effects of arrested cognitive development in pupils. To offset the impact, we need to ensure a right balance and additionally, we need to encourage more and more practical ways of pedagogy.