Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is debated over whether the physical or mental strength is the decisive factor influencing the achievements of athletes. In my opinion, while maintaining a peak physical condition is somewhat essential, mental strength should, instead, be considered as the pivotal factor contributing to the success of sportsman and sports woman. It is understandable that physical fitness is essential in order for athletes to obtain success in their career. Numerous sports and championships consider it as a fundamental requirement, commonly referred to as athletic eligibility. For instance, a football player with physical disabilities inevitably possesses immense possibilities to be declined from professional tournaments, as that acceptance might contain a certain potential injustice. Another example is the distinct separation of male and female sports, which is a result of the asymmetry between the physical capabilities of genders. Nevertheless, despite the importance of building up a good physique, remaining mentally strong should be the top priority among athletes. Firstly, as the majority of competitors in championships is already at the peak of their physical condition, extraordinary mental capabilities become the requisite factors for them to break through to the top. For instance, an athlete competing with personal motivations such as financial pressure or simply revenge definitely holds a high probability of winning, compared to the ones who lack such extreme motives. Secondly, being equipped with vigorous mentality guarantees that athletes overcome external negative influences that might deteriorate their achievements. In 2018, Angela Ha, who won 3 gold medals in previous SEA Games, shamefully failed to make it into the semi-final of that year’s tournament, as she blamed that failure on the lost of a family member, which indirectly upset her professional skills. In conclusion, though maintaining the perfect physique is partially necessary, I believe being mentally tough is the key factor for athletes to fully exploit their potential, leading to success in their own professions.