In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they tried hard enough. what are the advantages and the disadvantages of giving children this message?

Many children often correlates putting in the effort with success, which is considered a normal message they receive in several cultures. Children are able to gradually build their confidence because of the support of external factors, such as their parents, friends, or teachers. This helps develop a mindset where they could "fake it until they make it". Additionally, they are able to practise standing tall in the face of failure. Although having that innate sense of belief can help an individual tremendously, there are also certain disadvantages. Firstly, regardless of the amount of effort children have put in, they may be reluctant to accept failures. To illustrate this, a kid who was told that they were academically smart their whole lives, might experience a culture shock when they did not pass a test. Secondly, this false hope may lead to mental health issues, such as depression or anger issues because they failed to fulfill their expectations or what they thought they could achieve. Take, for example, they were inspired to become a pilot after a ride on the plane, causing parents to support their child's dream by enrolling them in a pilot school. However, due to their innocence, they have not been exposed yet to the rigorous education and trainings pilots had to go through to finally become acknowledged as a pilot. Thus, despite their efforts to presevere preserve, these kids can feel like failures when they, for instance, got scolded for getting an aircraft-related question wrong. In conclusion, one's confidence may boost when other people believe in them. However, this belief, when is not executed with self-awareness, may lead to dentrimental health effects.