Some people say that travelling to a country is necessary if one wants to become familiar with a new culture. Others, however, feel that technology gives us enough tools to make travel unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The necessity of physical global exploration has come to the forefront of travelers’ awareness in this technological era. Some feel that travel is no longer required to obtain cultural experiences, as the internet provides all. However, I agree with those who say that journeying to a place is the only method of truly comprehending a foreign lifestyle. In the following paragraphs, I will explore the rationale for both beliefs as well as proffer justification for my own viewpoint. Regarding those who hold that technology is enough to learn about foreign cultures, there are many reasons. One supportive claim is that the internet offers endless resources to nearly immerse oneself in any environment. More specifically, an enterprising individual could become completely fluent in another language, by watching subtitled programs on Netflix, and then paying a local to converse on Skype. In fact, Stanford published a study in 2017 that found 60% of language learners utilized websites to speak to natives, and these learners indicated a high-level of understanding and affinity toward the target culture. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that opinion is ludicrous. The obvious reason is that one can never truly understand a foreign context until they experience the exotic home environment. London is a shining, albeit slightly grubby, example of this. Not only are the smells of the city unique, from the spicy food stalls to the cloying pubs, but also the sounds of the city are unlike any other, with the broad variety of accents and languages present in this urban pastiche of the wider world. What is more, none of these aforementioned elements can be truly encountered at one’s desk, in front of a screen. In sum, I maintain that only by physically being present inside another culture can one truly experience a different way of life. In the future, I sincerely wish that more people would turn off their devices and gadgets, and venture out to the world at large.