The youth crime rate is rising rapidly in many countries. What are the reasons for this trend? What can parents and teachers do to solve it?

Crime has become an increasing concern around the world, and a lot of money is being spent on the detection and punishment of these activities. More disturbing is the alarming fact that in several countries, more and more young people are involved in criminal acts. This essay will discuss in detail the motivation behind this phenomenon and put forward several solutions for this issue. There are several causes of youth crime, but the primary reason is a negative family environment. Nowadays, both parents have to work to make ends meet. As a result, this leads to a lack of parental supervision; hence the child feels neglected and hurt. These children, then seek bad company as an outlet for their frustration. Furthermore, the influence that TV and video games have on our young people. Bad habits and behaviour are glorified in movies, misleading kids to think that such behaviour is acceptable. This all leads to one fact, and this is that kids still need to be taught between right and wrong. As a society, we can do a lot to solve this problem. For a start, parents shall have to take time out of their busy schedule and spend it with their children. For example, family dinner around a table provides a platform for our youth to talk about what is happening in their lives and where they need support. Parents should also encourage their children to play outside rather than spending their time in front of a TV. Secondly, teachers can provide more awareness programs that highlight the importance of education. Higher education can provide more opportunities for these youngsters, thus reducing the change for them to get involved with crime. In conclusion, unless efforts are not made by the parent to support and educate the youth, this problem will only escalate. While parent’s do have a great role to play, teachers can also help with counselling and guiding our kids towards a better future.