Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by a very small number of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Globalization has been taking place so fast that some languages such as English, Spanish or Chinese have become virtually universal languages, which effectively helps to foster communications among various nations while unpopular languages spoken by ethnic minorities are more likely to go extinct. Therefore, some people believe that public investments on saving the highly likely-extinct languages are totally wasteful and futile; However, I believe all languages should be protected and preserved. On the one hand, the biggest drawback of saving minority languages is the problem in efficiency which people are confronted. Firstly, there have been millions of people in need of help to overcome far more urgent issues such as battling against severe starvation or mass disease, and then it followed that investment on minority language is reportedly considered as a needless waste of money. Secondly, the wider the variety of languages are, the less efficient the conversations among people coming from different countries are. For example, the fact that people speaking different languages have to make much more effort and time as well as misunderstand each other when communicating make transaction cost increase. Despite the above argument, I believe that governments should immediately embark upon protecting and preserving the languages that are less spoken. A language not only is the means of communication, but also reflects distinctive cultures of various nations. If a significant number of languages go extinct, the world will be standardized and there will be a decline in cultural diversity. As a result, societies are unlikely to progress to higher stages of development. In conclusion, I believe that the short-term benefits in term of cost saving, which is derived from the objection against saving the minor languages should not outweigh the long benefits in term of high diversity.