In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Fast foods, and restaurants that serve fast foods have seen a massive rise in popularity in the past few decades. As a result of which, eating habits of individuals have shifted, and caused health problems such as obesity. It has been observed, that governments impose a higher tax on these eateries to try and curb the problem. These measures have had both an adverse and positive effect on solving the issue. On one hand it has hiked up government revenues and encouraged young people to go for healthier alternatives when dining, but on the other hand, has also caused problems for a plethora of people who depend on these cuisines. Firstly, imposing taxes on fast foods, raises government revenues, which can then be utilised in other areas of public benefit. A consequence of this is a rise in prices for foodstuff. Consequently, it discourages many young people, especially, teenagers and kids, from spending too much on fast food and encourage them to opt for healthier alternatives. The main source of income for these kids is usually the pocket money they get from their parents, which is often very limited, and hence takes away the luxury of being able to afford fast food items. This solves the dilemma of eating too much for a majority of young people. Conversely, many people, for instance students, who often come from different parts of the country, depend on these burgers and chicken joints to eat. Many a times, they do not have the resources to cook for themselves. Therefore, the only source of cooked food for them are these fast food joints. If taxes are enforced on restaurants, it raises the prices for meals which makes it even more difficult for them to live away from home. In those cases it is disadvantageous that more taxes be imposed. To conclude, governments are often seen imposing taxes to slow down consumption of some items, which are deemed harmful to the general public when consumed in excess. Fast foods being one of these commodities, where a spike in consumption has been noticed leading to several health problems, like obesity. If taxes are imposed, it will discourage many young people from heavy consumption of these items. However, it also creates an obstacle for several other individuals, students, who depend on fast foods as their only source of cooked food. Thus, in my opinion, it is advisable to impose these taxes with exemptions for students and people who depend on these cuisines, to both address the issue and not create more.