Healthcare should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. To what extend do you agree with this opinion?

Healthcare is one of the most crucial human rights that everyone should receive. It is argued that governments should not offer free healthcare for people since it is one's responsibility to take care of it even if they can not afford it. I disagree with this opinion and I think that healthcare should be provided for free for everyone. There are several reasons why healthcare must be free for citizens. The differences in people's incomes are one of them. For instance, some have a lower salary which will not allow them to receive good care when they are sick since they can only pay for cheap hospitals and medications. Also, they might not be able to afford the treatment of severe and dangerous illnesses like cancer. In addition, those who do not have any sort of income namely unemployed and older people. The Elderly need continuous healthcare and the majority of them are retired and do not own enough money to receive it. While people who do not have jobs will not be provided any type of healthcare since they have no money. Many might argued that if healthcare were free it will strain the governments financial resources. However, they can ask for investments where the refunds are used in the health sector. As well as to encourage rich people and big companies to donate to health charities. Despite these reasons heathcare must be provided for free for people. In conclusion, I believe that it is the responsibility of governments to provide healthcare to its citizens. Due to the fact that some people do not have a job while others have low income otherwise those will be left to die.