Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in many subcontinental countries. What do you think are the reasons behind this?

Sports play an indispensable role in everyone's life. So, does every game gets the same importance? Nowadays, the popularity of cricket among people is more as compared to other sports in many nations. This trend has various causes which are discussed in the subsequent fragments. To commence with, the tournaments of cricket are more as compared to the other games. As it is evident that every year the administrators organise different cricket leagues, namely test match, twenty- twenty, IPL and many more, which allure a great number of audience and consequently its popularity increases. Moreover, it is often noticed that the companies hire cricketers to endorse their products, so that is why cricketers become role models of youngsters, and the craze of watching this game upsurge among them. To elucidate, the energy drinks advertised by Virat Kohli, has increased his fan following and further the popularity of cricket. Further, in every nation the playgrounds of cricket are more as compared to other sports, which has affected the value of other games. What is more, the sponsors allocate a lot of funds in this game which has lured youth generation to a great extent. Other sports, such as hockey, football and badminton are not in much trend. Lastly, the number of sports channels is also more in the case of this game. Therefore, this game is gaining importance in many ways. After pondering over the topic, I can conclude that cricket has gained its importance owing to a myriad of reasons which I discussed above.