Some people think that the government should take care of disadvantaged people such as the unemployed and the homeless. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, due to the Covid 19 pandemic most of the world is facing unprecedented challenges. The government should take matters into their hands and look after citizens who have no home and work. Although, some may argue that government should not give out benefits, however, I believe, helping the needy can result in greater good. Firstly, there are many reasons why someone might lose their job or home, such as when a company declares bankruptcy. If this happens, an employee is at no fault, but ends up losing its house along with the job, as there is no income to pay off the rent or mortgage. In cases like this, the local authorities should take responsibility to find temporary homes, and a job. On the other hand, some believe that when the government provides a council house and weekly money for food to individuals, they stop looking for jobs and start to live off the resources given by the authorities. However, some people might have young children, who do not deserve to be on roads and starve. For this reason, unprecedented measures should be taken by the government. Furthermore, many individuals find it difficult to find work, as they have no experience or training in the field they are applying to. Take the UK for example, a facility called The Job Center Plus, educates people on how to apply for jobs based on their qualifications and in addition how to write a resume. Such examples are a great way of helping an individual find a job and therefore, with enough earnings, an individual can then afford a living. To conclude, with the unemployment rate at its highest in the 21st century, governments should help homeless and unemployed, as these individuals also have a right to live under a roof.