Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

Over the centuries human have coexisted with animals, as a result today, we can witness domesticated animals being present in many homes. While others argue the safety of family members, particularly children as many newspapers have reported children mauled by animals, but I am at opine that pets harming people are over emphasised and these actions are very negligible. Having pets at home brings positive attitude in children as they take care of these animals from the toddler age and having been raised together, creates a deeper bond between them. For instance, a popular infotainment channel conducted a study for families with pets and without them in London. The main purpose of the study is to understand the attitude of children who grew up with pets and those who did not. The results showcased that pet owners had more compassion and helped to develop their cognitive skills as they perform a diverse range of actions such as grooming, feeding, medications and engaging in play time. Consequently, children’s social and mental health were improved through exposure of pets. On the flip side, one might argue that pets are a threat to toddlers when left unsupervised. This is completely a false statement as pet behaviour is a direct effect of how the caretaker’s upbringing is. When a pet undergoes appropriate training at a young age it is well behaved even in the presence of infants. Although there have been occasional cases of exotic pets hurting children, such incidents are rarely or less significant as most of the folks keep dogs, cats and rodents as pets. To conclude, pets do enforce a positive impact on children psychologically, family owing a pet is a good thing to do. The government should introduce policies to prevent unethical breeding of pets and illegally using pets for tournaments and for monetary benefits in fights as these two factors contribute to trigger aggression in pets.