Health experts believe that walking is a good exercise for health. However, people are walking less nowadays. Why is this happening? How can people be encouraged to walk more.

Regular physical exercise is a vital part of maintaining our health and wellbeing. Health specialist reckons that although walking is good for health, people are walking much lesser than their parents and grandparents used to do. This essay intends to look into the cause and suggests some ways to mitigate this problem. To commence with, there is a myriad of reasons why people are not walking now. Firstly, people are so busy in hustle and bustle of city life that they do not have time for themselves. As everyone is running in the rat race of earning more money, therefore they forget to take care oh their own health. Secondly, folks do not feel safe to walk on roads. This is because, people are driving rashly on roads, albeit some youngsters who not have licence drive cars and other vehicles which is really precious for lives of pedestrians. To illustrate, recently news published in Times of India newspaper that four pedestrians died and two injured, who is stricken by a car, which was driven by a drunk driver. Thus, there is so many news on this topic, which instils fear among citizens to walk.  So is there any way to encourage people to walk more? Of course yes, first and the foremost Is that people have to be made aware of the potential health benefits associated with regular walking. Seminars should be conducted in which they learn that walking is good for their longevity, brain, memory, blood pressure, fitness and general health. Moreover, strict laws should be imposed by authorities on drink and drive and further redesign the cities and have pavements on sides of the roads for people who wish to walk.  After pondering over the topic, I can conclude that there are many reasons why people do not walk, however it can be solved by the steps taken by the government and individuals, as it has a lot of benefits.