In a number of countries, some people think it’s necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Whether it is in regards to spending funds on building new railway lines for superfast trains or upgrading the prevailing public transportation, people have opposing views. However, I support the latter view as it may benefit the environment in the long run. To begin with, some people believe directing monetary funds on constructing new railway tracks for faster trains as they significantly cut the journey times of commuters. Because of the reduction in the travel time taken by the government officials and businessmen in reaching their workplaces, they are able to work for longer hours thereby enhancing the productivity of people. For instance, Ahmedabad-Mumbai bullet trains on new paths help people traverse faster as opposed to conventional trains which take around more hours to reach different cities. Thus, investing in the latest high-speed railway tracks would result in time savings for people. Nevertheless, opponents, myself included, consider substantial amounts of funds should be diverted to improve already-existing public transport since in the long term it is better for the environment. The condition of old buses in many cities have become degraded and they not only pollute the air but also fail to attract the willingness of people to ride on them. For example, many countries have launched future projects towards driving the public transport fleet electric by making provisions for investments in electric buses, which can prove to environmentally friendly, resulting in zero harmful emissions clogging the atmosphere. Therefore, such investments solve the most pressing problem of air pollution and prove beneficial for the environment. To conclude, although some people are of the view that investing money in building new railway lines for high-speed trains might have benefits, I support the opinion of spending money on upgrading the existing public transportation modes which solve the issues of air pollution for the betterment of the environment.