The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

By limiting the need for people to travel, it is believed that this is the sole solution to reduce the amount of traffic in cities. It can include some basic necessities such as travelling from household regarding work, education or shopping, etc. I certainly agree with this point of view. This essay will discuss the argument in detail with some significant references in supporting the outline. First and foremost, nowadays travel is a necessity in many aspects of life. Folks commute from one place to another to complete their daily tasks. However, in order to give a smooth day-to-day commute to their people, Governments tend to spend a lot of money on building the required infrastructure which involves heavy installation and maintenance costs. Furthermore, considering the degradation of environmental resources at an alarming rate, it is required to define the limitations of this daily activity. For instance, Indian Railways carries millions of people like milkmen, labours, etc. every day to either intercities or interstates; which often leads to lining up a huge queue at the railway counters, as a result of which some individuals who actually need the service always end up suffering. Albeit, the pollution it causes by the carelessness of commuters; it is a known fact, the railways consume loads of electricity and hence is utilising vast resources. Moreover, in today’s era of modern technology where half of the work is automated and can be done remotely, Authorities should consider this as an option and promote it not only to moderate the traffic on roads but will eventually enhance environment friendliness. On the contrary, some people opine that this could end human contact and would hamper society in a drastic way. I firmly believe that travel should be limited in order to curb this currently prevailing situation. This will certainly allow the development to be done in the areas where immediate action is required and will not be just limited to building the highways. Also, in case of emergencies, delay on the roads can be avoided too. Nowadays, we can get whatever service is required with just a click, so let’s make the most of it. In conclusion, I believe humans are sustaining due to their adaptive nature, and hence, we should make the use of modernization to change our routines with changing times. This could be our new normal and will shape our future generations in a more efficient way.