Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertisement, in general, push the trades of consumer’s products and services, although, in most of the cases, they do not express the society real necessities. This essay totally agrees with this statement once people are connecting the buying process with happiness and also they are acquiring products and services that they don’t use. Firstly, due to the advance of marketing research and advertisement, propaganda is now affecting how people perceive happiness. The sense of realization is becoming related to how many things someone is able to own and it is leading people to materialize joy and pleasure. This happiness is only perceived in the first days of product arrives at buyers home, and them they need to perform a new acquisition to maintain this feeling. For instance, an England magazine Era has released an article that concludes that youngsters, nowadays, feel more self-assured, confident and happy if they are able to have access to the last smartphone launched. Secondly, people are addicted to buying what is shown on a TV commercial and advertised on social media. This habit is making the average consumer accumulate more than they can financially manage. Several families worldwide are facing financial problems to perform a high living standard. For example, a government agency which measures the spent average of housing budget has shown that 78 per cent of American families spent part of their life savings buying products that actually they didn’t need. To conclude, advertising is trending people to buy things that they don’t need in order to achieve a sense of contentment likewise accumulating products that they don’t really use.